Theme Thursdays: Male Person

19 May

This week’s Theme Thursdays topic is male characters. The prompt asks readers to submit a description of a man or boy from literature. When I read this prompt, I immediately thought of Dill from Harper Lee’s To Kill a Mockingbird. Every time I read To Kill a Mockingbird, I become more attached to Dill. Curious and inventive, Dill hatches many imaginative plans to make Boo Radley come out. His innocence is endearing. During the Tom Robinson trial, Dill becomes upset when he sees how unfairly Tom is treated simply because of his skin color. The chapter where Dill reveals the truth about his home life always breaks my heart. Dill’s parents buy him things like books and toys so that he will not bother them. More than anything, Dill wants to be wanted. Every time I read this chapter, I wish I could adopt sweet, imaginative Charles Baker Harris. 🙂 I love the following description of Dill:

“Dill was a curiosity. He wore blue linen shorts that buttoned to his shirt, his hair was snow white and stuck to his head like duckfluff; he was a year my senior but I towered over him. As he told us the old tale his blue eyes would lighten and darken; his laugh was sudden and happy; he habitually pulled at a cowlick in the center of his forehead” (Lee 7-8).

Happy Thursday!

18 Responses to “Theme Thursdays: Male Person”

  1. laurelrainsnow May 19, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

    Oh, Dill is a wonderful character to feature! That description really brings the reader a full picture of him.

    Here’s MY THURSDAY MEMES POST

    • salmeida May 19, 2011 at 11:23 pm #

      I thought your Theme Thursdays response was interesting as well! I really like your website!

  2. carabossesbakeshop May 19, 2011 at 2:06 pm #

    Very nice, looks like an interesting read.

    Here’s mine:
    http://carabosseslibrary.blogspot.com/2011/05/theme-thursday_19.html

    • salmeida May 19, 2011 at 11:24 pm #

      I really liked your response! You always pick such interesting books! Love your site!

  3. kavyen May 19, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

    Oh, not only is the description detailed but so is your personal thoughts on the character.. Love it!!!!!

    • salmeida May 19, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

      Thank you so much! I really enjoy your blog! You feature great books … I’ve added 2 or 3 of your recommendations to my TBR list! Thanks for blogging!

  4. therrreader May 19, 2011 at 5:20 pm #

    Looks like a nice read, thanks for sharing!
    Have a great day too!

    • salmeida May 19, 2011 at 11:26 pm #

      Thanks for visiting! I don’t normally read romance novels, but your Theme Thursdays response is really enticing. 🙂

  5. TheBookGatherer May 19, 2011 at 6:33 pm #

    Oh this description makes me want to read To Kill a Mockingbird all over again! I’ve just finished reading The Help so perhaps I could have a theme going on!!
    Here’s mine:
    http://thebookgatherer.blogspot.com/2011/05/theme-thursday.html

    • salmeida May 19, 2011 at 11:22 pm #

      I loved The Help! That’s a book I wish I could read for the first time all over again! (Does that make sense?)

  6. Bev May 19, 2011 at 8:21 pm #

    Great description and I really like your added thoughts on Dill’s character.

    Here’s mine: http://myreadersblock.blogspot.com/2011/05/theme-thursday-male-person.html

    • salmeida May 19, 2011 at 11:21 pm #

      Thanks! I’m adding your Theme Thursdays book to my TBR pile as we speak!

  7. Faith May 19, 2011 at 8:25 pm #

    Seen the movie but haven’t read the book. The book is probably even better than the movie, right?

    Here’s Mine

    • salmeida May 19, 2011 at 11:18 pm #

      I actually like the movie ALMOST as much as the book … almost. The book is definitely better though! Though they focus on the same story, they are very different. I would definitely encourage you to read the book!!! It’s one of my favorites!

  8. Sherrie May 19, 2011 at 9:20 pm #

    Hi!
    I read this book a few weeks ago and really enjoyed it. I had seen the movie. Dill is one of those characters that stick with you long after the book is finished. Have a great day!

    Sherrie
    Just Books

    • salmeida May 19, 2011 at 11:20 pm #

      I’m so glad you liked the book! I’ve reread it several times, but I never get sick of it!

  9. Crystal (I Totally Paused!) May 20, 2011 at 2:15 am #

    I totally need to reread this one, I’ve had it on the shelf for awhile!

    Mine is from The Rose Without a Thorn, which is a book about Katherine Howard.

  10. vvb May 20, 2011 at 7:30 pm #

    good one! from such a classic read.

Leave a comment