Teaser Tuesdays: Jane Eyre

28 Feb

After finishing The Eyre Affair over the weekend, I have decided to dive into Jane Eyre … and I am thoroughly enjoying it so far! Therefore, my Teaser Tuesdays excerpt for this week comes from Charlotte Bronte’s classic novel:

“Superstition was with me at that moment, but it was not yet her hour for complete victory. My blood was still warm; the mood of the revolted slave was still bracing me with its bitter vigor; I had to stem a rapid rush of retrospective thought before I quailed to the dismal present” (10).

Although I have just begun the novel, I am already enjoying Jane as a heroine and protagonist. She is strong and intelligent, and has easily earned my compassion. I also love Charlotte Bronte’s writing style. From the very first page, I have been swept into Jane’s bleak world. Reading Jane Eyre has been a welcome escape from a very busy work week!

15 Responses to “Teaser Tuesdays: Jane Eyre”

  1. Jyoti February 28, 2012 at 1:08 pm #

    This is one of my favorite Classics! Here is my teaser
    http://jbabel.blogspot.com/2012/02/28-teaser-tuesdays-playgroup-by-janey.html

    • salmeida February 28, 2012 at 2:40 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by my blog! Based on the first several chapters, I think it will be one of my favorite classics, too!

  2. Irish February 28, 2012 at 1:37 pm #

    I read Jane Eyre a few years ago…and followed it with The Eyre Affair. I really enjoyed reading both books so close together.

    My teaser is here.

    • salmeida February 28, 2012 at 2:41 pm #

      I wish I would have read it in that order as well! I might have to re-read The Eyre Affair in the future … I know I will pick up on more of the literary humor after a second reading!

  3. Pepca February 28, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

    Great teaser! I love Jane Eyre! Here is my TT.

    • salmeida February 28, 2012 at 2:49 pm #

      I’m so glad you loved Jane Eyre too! I’m looking forward to getting home from work tonight just so I can read the book! 🙂

  4. laurelrainsnow February 28, 2012 at 3:05 pm #

    It has been many years since I read this book; time for a reread!

    Here’s MY TUESDAY MEMES POST

  5. Mirka February 28, 2012 at 3:48 pm #

    You can never go wrong with Jane Eyre.

    My teaser is from Appointment with Death

  6. Sandy Nachlinger February 28, 2012 at 4:45 pm #

    Love those classic books! Your Teaser from Jane Eyre reminded me that I need to read it again.
    My Teaser is from an older book — but not as old as Jane Eyre!
    Sandy’s Teaser

  7. mary Ann Langan February 28, 2012 at 6:10 pm #

    A nice teaser from a great book.

    http://tributebooksmama.blogspot.com/2012/02/teaser-tuesday_28.html

  8. Beth@Weavings February 28, 2012 at 6:24 pm #

    Great teaser! I read this for the first time a couple of years ago and it became my favorite. I highly recomend The Secret Diaries of Charlotte Bronte by Syrie James.

    My teaser comes from Bath Tangle by Georgette Heyer.

    • salmeida February 28, 2012 at 6:28 pm #

      Thanks for the recommendation … I will have to add that to my TBR pile!

  9. Lee @shewolfreads February 28, 2012 at 9:13 pm #

    This is honestly one of my favorite all time books. Enjoy!

  10. angryasianlibrarian February 28, 2012 at 11:50 pm #

    Love the book, loved the last movie adaptation as well! I even read Jane Slayre which was surprisingly good! Our teaser strays from the classics in the traditional sense, but is a cult classic – Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas. Not an easy read, but in the right setting can be hilarious to read! http://read.lib.uts.edu.au/2012/02/teaser-tuesdays-28-february-2012.html

  11. Karen and Gerard February 29, 2012 at 12:51 am #

    I skimmed through this when I had to read it for high school and liked it. Saw it on TV too. Glad you are enjoying it!

    Here’s ours: http://ourstack.blogspot.com/2012/02/tuesday-teasers-3-this-week.html

Leave a Reply

