Musing Mondays: Series

27 Feb

This week’s Musing Mondays prompt asks:

• Do you read books that are part of a series?
• Do you collect all the books in the series before starting? What if the series is brand new, and the only book that’s been published so far is Book one? As subsequent books in the series are published, do you go back and re-read the preceding books?

No, I don’t usually read books in a series. I am often disappointed with series because I usually do not enjoy subsequent books as much as I enjoy the first. Because of this, I often read the first book in a series, but then I don’t finish it. I recently read Divergent by Veronica Roth. I’ve heard this is going to be a trilogy. While I really enjoyed Divergent, I don’t feel like I need to read subsequent novels. The same is true for The Eyre Affair. I know there are other novels in the Thursday Next series, yet I don’t feel compelled to read them. I thoroughly enjoyed both novels, but they didn’t leave me wanting more.

There are notable exceptions, however. For example, I finished The Hunger Games series in a matter of days. I purchased Catching Fire and Mockingjay while reading The Hunger Games because I knew I couldn’t wait to start the rest of the books in the series. I can see myself re-reading this trilogy in the future because I enjoyed it so much!

Even though I don’t enjoy series as an adult, there were several years when I read exclusively from the Nancy Drew series as a child.  I think I’ve mentioned before that I read the Nancy Drew series until I was WAY too old for it to be considered cool! 🙂 Oh well. I truly believe that I am a voracious reader today because Nancy Drew introduced me to the world of reading!

2 Responses to “Musing Mondays: Series”

  1. Valentina February 27, 2012 at 5:43 pm #

    That can definitely happen, where hte first book is much better than the other ones.

    http://carabosseslibrary.blogspot.com/2012/02/musing-mondays_27.html

  2. caite@a lovely shore breeze February 27, 2012 at 11:51 pm #

    if you don’t like the rest in a series, maybe you just need better authors!
    One author only seem to have one good book in. you read the second and it a bust.

Leave a Reply

