Friday Finds

6 Jan

This week’s Friday Finds are from the recommendation list Goodreads created for me based on my bookshelf and ratings. I love that feature! It’s a great way to discover interesting new books like:

  • Girl Land by Caitlin Flanagan – Flanagan’s book sounds like an interesting exploration of the transition from girlhood to womanhood.
  • These Is My Words by Nancy E. Turner – This is the story of Sarah Prine, an iron-willed woman living in the Arizona Territory in the  late 1800s. I don’t usually choose novels about life on the frontier, but I think I might like Turner’s passionate, determined heroine.  
  • Chains by Laurie Halse Anderson – In Chains, Laurie Halse Anderson tells the story of thirteen-year-old Isabel, a young girl who becomes the “property” of a wealthy New York couple during the Revolutionary War. This book has been in my TBR pile for quite a while, but I had forgotten about it until I checked my Goodreads recommendations. I might try to read this one as part of the Mount TBR reading challenge I am committing to complete this year.
2 Responses to “Friday Finds”

  1. Tea Time with Marce January 6, 2012 at 2:59 pm #

    Girl Land cover is amazing,adding that one. I read Cinderella ate my daughter last year, it was good also.

  2. Lady Kell of Kincavel January 6, 2012 at 11:22 pm #

    They sound good. 🙂
    Here’s my Friday Finds post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

