2012 Reading Challenge

5 Jan

2012 is underway and promises to be even busier than last year! Between work and home obligations, it’s going to be more important than ever that I intentionally set aside time to do some reading.

Last year, I signed up for one reading challenge … and failed miserably! Early in the year, I decided to try Dana Huff’s “Books I Should’ve Read in High School, but Didn’t” challenge. I committed to the most basic level of the challenge – completing 4 books. I only finished two. Don’t get me wrong – I LOVED this challenge! I read The Grapes of Wrath for the first time and thought it was beautiful! I also read Catcher in the Rye … and hated it (gasp)! All in all, I’m glad I read the books I did. I think my problem was that I got distracted by several new releases last year that took my attention away from the challenge.

This year, I am committing to one challenge – the Mount TBR reading challenge. Once again, I’m going to commit to the most basic level – Pike’s Peak – and try to read 12 books from my ever-growing stack of TBR novels. The first book on my list is I Am the Messenger by Markus Zusak. I’m looking forward to diving into this novel, and I can’t wait to check off some books from my TBR list!

One Response to “2012 Reading Challenge”

  1. Bev@My Reader's Block January 6, 2012 at 3:58 am #

    Thanks so much for choosing my Mt. TBR challenge as your challenge for the year. Good luck tackling your pile.

Leave a Reply

