Back in the Saddle Again

1 Dec

It’s been a while since my last post. Months, actually. I could blame it on how busy I’ve been – which is true – but really, I just haven’t prioritized writing on this blog. BUT I’m back in the saddle again, and I’m determined to provide updates more frequently. I have read more books than ever in 2011, and I think that’s due in part to the blogging I did earlier in the year. I see this blog as my personal reading journal – a record of the novels I have read. Writing about what I’ve read holds me accountable. I also love connecting with other readers online!

As I mentioned, I have read many books this year. Since I haven’t reviewed all of them on this blog, I thought I would make a list to document this year’s reading accomplishments.

  • Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling
  • The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck
  • Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli
  • The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
  • A Moveable Feast by Ernest Hemingway
  • Teach Like Your Hair’s On Fire by Rafe Esquith
  • An Assembly Such as This by Pamela Aiden
  • The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton
  • The Tea Rose by Jennifer Donnelly
  • The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
  • Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
  • Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins
  • Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly
  • Persuasion by Jane Austen
  • The Selected Works of T.S. Spivet by Reif Larsen
  • Jacob Have I Loved by Katherine Paterson
  • The Distant Hours by Kate Morton
  • The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
  • The Paris Wife by Paula McLain
  • Bossypants by Tina Fey

I also had the chance to reread some old favorites this year including To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee, Romeo and Juliet by William Shakespeare, and The Book Thief by Markus Zusak.

The Paris Wife and A Moveable Feast were my favorite books of 2011! I picked up The Paris Wife based on a friend’s recommendation, not realizing it was a fictional account of Ernest Hemingway’s first marriage. I had never read anything by Ernest Hemingway (gasp!), but The Paris Wife changed that! Paula McLain’s novel focuses on Hadley Richardson (Hemingway’s first wife) and her marriage with the famous American author. As I read the novel, I became immersed in Hadley’s world and obsessed with all things Hemingway. Before diving into his fiction, I decided to read Hemingway’s autobiography A Moveable Feast … and I was enchanted! I love Hemingway’s writing style. I also loved how A Moveable Feast felt like an intimate glimpse into the life of a celebrated literary icon. I purchased a copy of The Sun Also Rises immediately after finishing Hemingway’s autobiography. I might have a slight literary crush! 🙂 Nonetheless, I’m looking forward to reading many more Hemingway books in the year to come!

Leave a Reply

