Theme Thursdays: Conversation

27 May

Due to a very busy week at work, my reading progress has been halted. I don’t mind, though, because it gives me more time to savor The Selected Works of T.S. Spivet. The longer I am able to draw out the reading process, the more time I can spend in the world of T.S. Spivet!

There are so many wonderful conversations in Selected Works! It was hard to select just one for this week’s Theme Thursdays prompt. After much debate, I chose the following passage that focuses on Emma Osterville, an ambitious young girl who dreams of being a scientist during a time when the field does not welcome women. Her tenacity and intellect make her a trailblazer in the late 1800s. The following conversation takes place at a conference she is allowed to attend as a young girl:

It was the most memorable weekend of her life. She met hundreds of scientests of all conceivable fields, and much to the amusement of the men around her, she introduced herself thus: “Hello, I am Emma Osterville Englethorpe and I would like to be a scientist.”

“Well, what kind of scientist do you want to be, little one?” a rotund man prompted her, smiling at the frothy ribbons on her hat, a gift from Elizabeth for the trip.

“A geologist. I am pretty sure. I am most interested in the Miocene and Mesozoic eras and particularly volcanic deposits. But I also love botany and describing the orchid families of the Indian Oceanic Rim. And Father says I have one of the best topographical eyes through the sextant that he has ever seen.”

The man took a step back, bewildered. “Well, my child, may I see you out in the field!” he said, and walked away, shaking his head.” (page 222)

2 Responses to “Theme Thursdays: Conversation”

  1. kavyen May 31, 2011 at 9:26 pm #

    Such an impressive young lady…

  2. kavyen May 31, 2011 at 9:28 pm #

    I just read ‘The sweetness at the bottom of the pie’ and young scientist sure make an impression. Love love this one!

Leave a Reply

