Teaser Tuesdays: Another Bit from The Selected Works of T.S. Spivet

17 May

Teaser Tuesdays is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of Should Be Reading. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

I finally finished reading The Grapes of Wrath this week. Loved it! You can read my review here. This week I also started reading The Selected Works of T.S. Spivet by Reif Larsen. I am smitten! The Selected Works is told from the perspective of T.S. Spivet, a twelve-year old cartographer whose brilliance garners him recognition from the Smithsonian. T.S. Spivet is a lovable character. His quirky narration is endearing – I’ve found myself chuckling at many of his slightly off-topic tangents. The Selected Works of T.S. Spivet is such an enjoyable read so far, and I’m looking forward to writing more about it in the future. Here’s another teaser:

“The moment the latch on my door ticked shut, I began agonizing. For the act of packing I changed into an athletic costume complete with sweatbands and kneepads. This was going to be more difficult than the President’s Fitness Challenge, in which I couldn’t manage a single pull-up” (77).

See what I mean? Quirky, humorous, and endearing. What’s not to love?

5 Responses to “Teaser Tuesdays: Another Bit from The Selected Works of T.S. Spivet”

  1. Bunnita May 17, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

    I’m not sure what to make of the book yet but the cover is a knock out.

    Bunnita

  2. jlshall (Joy's Blog) May 17, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    Good teaser! I’ve been curious about this one. Sounds like such a fun read.

  3. laurelrainsnow May 17, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    Captivating teaser….thanks for sharing.

    Here’s MY TT POST

  4. pagesofjulia May 17, 2011 at 7:44 pm #

    I agree, great cover, and I agree, quirky and fun!

  5. Crystal (I Totally Paused!) May 17, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

    LOL – reminds me of myself. I totally change to pack! Love that cover too 🙂

    My teaser is from The Rose Without A Thorn.

Leave a Reply

