Booking Through Thursday: Age-Appropriate

12 May

This week’s Booking Through Thursday prompt asks:

  • Do you read books “meant” for other age groups? Adult books when you were a child; Young-Adult books now that you’re grown; Picture books just for kicks … You know … books not “meant” for you. Or do you pretty much stick to what’s written for people your age?

When I was younger, I usually read books that were “meant” for kids a little older than me. While my classmates were reading picture books, I was proud to announce that I had moved on to chapter books. 🙂 Don’t get me wrong … I was definitely NOT a literary prodigy. I just LOVED reading! Nancy Drew books were a favorite for much of my childhood. I read … no, I devoured … Nancy Drew books for far too long. Seriously. At a certain age, it’s just not cool to read Nancy Drew books any more. I reached that age … and then kept reading them for five more years. 🙂

In high school, I usually preferred “the classics” instead of the books my classmates were reading. Although I would have never admitted to my peers that I was reading … and enjoying … books like Silas Marner, I am thankful for my early exposure to great literature.

As an adult, I mostly read books “meant” for adults. I’m an 8th grade Language Arts teacher, so I try to stay up-to-date with new releases in young adult literature. I have to admit, though, that I’m not a fan of most books for teens. This probably makes me a poor Language Arts teacher, but I just can’t seem to get into books with teenage protagonists. There are a few notable exceptions. The Hunger Games trilogy made me reconsider my opinion of young adult literature. I enjoyed the series immensely, and I’m looking forward to seeing how the books are adapted to film. I also enjoyed reading and teaching The Giver by Lois Lowry. Both The Giver and the Hunger Games trilogy feature memorable characters and inspire great discussions about plot and theme.

7 Responses to “Booking Through Thursday: Age-Appropriate”

  1. laurelrainsnow May 12, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    I’m not a fan of teen books…and really wasn’t even when I was a teen. Although there were exceptions. I think it’s important to note that the book and the characters dictate my choices. (And I LOVED Nancy Drew, which I was reading in elementary school, mostly).

    Here’s MY BTT2 POST

    • salmeida May 12, 2011 at 1:41 pm #

      I agree! The books that stand out in my memory are the ones with memorable characters.

  2. Ludy May 12, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

    Ha! I LOVED Nancy Drew! The Whispering Statue was the first chapter book I ever read and I still remember how proud I felt when I finished it.

    Interesting to know that a middle school English teacher shares my feeling about teen lit. I also liked The Hunger Games (the sequels not so much).

  3. Shirley May 12, 2011 at 3:07 pm #

    As a teen I read adult books like those written by Stephen King or Danielle Steel. I remember reading The Many Faces of Eve (or something like that) which began my fascination with psychology. I don’t even know what was popular for teens back then. I know some classmates read romance fiction explicitly but that never did draw my attention. I like variety, not repetition, in my reading. Swing by my blog for my full answer, won’t you?

    My Bookshelf

    • salmeida May 12, 2011 at 3:40 pm #

      I’ve never read any Stephen King books … I’m afraid I wouldn’t sleep at night! 🙂 Are there any Stephen King books you would recommend reading first?

      I’m totally agree with you about reading for variety, not repetition. I prefer fiction, but that’s about as specific as my preferences get.

  4. mary Ann Langan May 12, 2011 at 5:28 pm #

    I like to mix it up sometimes,it makes for interesting reading.

  5. Cindy Swanson May 12, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

    Ah, The Hunger Games…I’ve heard so many wonderful things about these books, but I’ve avoided them for some reason! I’ll probably end up loving them.

    I hope you’ll stop by my BTT post…

    Cindy’s Book Club

Leave a Reply

