WWW Wednesdays

11 May

To play along, just answer the following three (3) questions…

• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

What am I currently reading?

I know this won’t be a surprise, but I’m still working through The Grapes of Wrath. Whenever I open the pages of this novel, I feel as if I am journeying with the Joads. Love it! I’m also currently rereading To Kill a Mockingbird with my students. I never get tired of reading about the Finch family!

What did you recently finish reading?

I just finished reading Bossypants by Tina Fey … and I loved it! I am a HUGE fan of Tina Fey. I loved her on SNL, and I am currently enjoying previous seasons of 30 Rock. While I don’t normally read celebrity memoirs, I found Bossypants truly enjoyable. In this book, Fey shares personal anecdotes, peppered with humorous advice about life. Her tone is light and self-deprecrating, yet I felt like I was able to relate with her – especially with her thoughts about motherhood. One word of caution … don’t read this book in public. You will laugh out loud at almost every page, and people will start to wonder if you’re a little crazy. 🙂 Bossypants is an enjoyable, easy read.

What do you think you’ll read next?

As I mentioned in my response to Teaser Tuesdays, I plan to read The Selected Works of T.S. Spivet next. I was drawn to the cover while browsing through books at Barnes and Noble. I know, I know. Don’t judge a book by its cover . Don’t tell anyone, but I’ve actually found many of my favorite books this way. I love the layout of this novel – the pages are adorned with lovely maps and diagrams. I never let myself start reading a new book until I’ve finished the one I’m currently reading – I’m a one-book-at-a-time person. I was reading The Grapes of Wrath when I picked up The Selected Works of T.S. Spivet, but I couldn’t help reading the first few pages. I was immediately charmed by the narrator and tone of the novel, and I’m chomping at the bit to get started!

4 Responses to “WWW Wednesdays”

  1. "Confuzzled" Shannon May 11, 2011 at 12:55 pm #

    Tina Fey’s book sounds good. Glad you enjoyed!

  2. Valentina May 11, 2011 at 1:57 pm #

    I also loved The Grapes of Wrath, it’s an incredible book.

    Here’s mine:
    http://carabosseslibrary.blogspot.com/2011/05/www-wednesdays_11.html

  3. TheBookGatherer May 11, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

    You can’t go wrong with To Kill a Mockingbird! A great book!

    Here’s my WWW:
    http://thebookgatherer.blogspot.com/2011/05/www-wednesdays_11.html

    • salmeida May 11, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

      I agree, BookGatherer! I tried to leave a comment on your blog, but for some reason it’s not working. I’m excited to see that you’re going to read The Help. I loved that book … I fell in love with the characters!

Leave a Reply

