Monday Musings – Yes, I’m “That Guy”

9 May

Today the Should Be Reading blog asks the following Monday Musings question: Do you ever find scenes from previous books you’ve read popping into your head at random times? If so, does it bother you? If it doesn’t happen to you, why do you think that is?

Everyone knows “that guy” – the one who compulsively quotes lines from movies. For every real-life conversation, “that guy” responds with a movie quote … which generally kills the conversation. Well, I’m “that guy” when it comes to books. There are many events from books I’ve read that are imprinted upon mind. When a real-life situation parallels one I’ve read about in a novel, I feel almost as if I have stepped into the book … and it doesn’t bother me at all! In fact, I love those moments when I realize that fiction is truly woven from real-life events.

Real-life people often remind me of books I’ve read as well. When she was little, I’m convinced my grandma was Scout Finch. My brother and Tom Sawyer could have been best friends during childhood … and, oh, the trouble they would have gotten into together! I’m especially enchanted when I meet a person who seems to have stepped out of the pages of a Jane Austen novel. I recently told my sister she was like one of Elizabeth Bennet’s “silly sisters” when she was lamenting her boyfriend-less existence. In retrospect, I’m glad she didn’t make the connection …

Do I quote lines from books like “that guy” quotes lines from movies? Yes, I do. I’ve killed my fair share of conversations with references to famous literary quotes. In another (equally girly) conversation with my sister about her love-life, we were discussing her love-interest’s choice in future career. She was excited that Mr. Wonderful would someday have a very well-paying job. According to my sister, Mr. Wonderful only needed a wife with whom to share his life (and wealth). I responded by saying, “It is a truth universally acknowledged …” Once again, the reference was completely lost. But I thought it was pretty clever. 🙂

(After re-reading this post, I’m debating whether or not this should be published. Everyone will know just how nerdy I am! Oh well … )

6 Responses to “Monday Musings – Yes, I’m “That Guy””

  1. "Confuzzled" Shannon May 9, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

    Ah… don’t worry about being Nerdy. Nerdy is in now anyway. I wish I could remember lines from a book after I read it but I more remember the scenes.

    • salmeida May 12, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

      I remember scenes as well. I love it when I visit a place that reminds me of a scene from a book!

  2. caite@a lovely shore breeze May 9, 2011 at 9:07 pm #

    I would totally do that too…if my memory was good enough that I actually quote books accurately.
    My memories of books…and there are many…tend to be more visual…

    • salmeida May 12, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

      Caite, I have visual memories as well. I love being able to picture scenes/events from books! The one down-side of having a visual “book memory” is that if a book is released as a movie, the movie rarely captures the look of the setting and characters quite as I had pictured it.

  3. Ludy May 12, 2011 at 2:47 pm #

    LOL, I totally do that. My favorite author for quoting is Patrick O’Brian. Luckily my husband shares my obsession so at least with him it doesn’t quite stop the conversation.

    • salmeida May 12, 2011 at 3:01 pm #

      Ludy, I’ve never read anything by Patrick O’Brian. I looked up his work after you posted, and it looks like I have more books to add to my TBR pile! Whew … I’ll never be able to catch up!

Leave a Reply

