100 Best Fictional Characters

9 May

My favorite books have always been filled with memorable characters. When I was a child, I read every Nancy Drew book I could get my hands on. I wanted to be just like Nancy Drew – smart, courageous, always involved in an exciting mystery. When I read To Kill a Mockingbird for the first time in high school, I fell in love with the character of Scout Finch. I was charmed by her imperfections – her penchant for swearing, her tom-boyish manners that always got her into trouble with Aunt Alexandra, her compulsive habit of saying exactly what was on her mind. Nancy Drew and Scout are just a couple of the characters who have made their way into my heart. I guess you could say that although they are fictitious, these characters have left their mark upon my literary life.

Today I ran across a list compiled by NPR of the 100 best fiction characters. I was not surprised to see Atticus, Scout, and Boo on the list. I was very excited to see that Lily Bart from Edith Wharton’s The House of Mirth made it into the top ten! Lily is my favorite fictional character, and I feel like she is often overlooked. NPR’s salute to memorable fictional characters makes me want to read several books. Like The Sound and the Fury. And Lolita. And the list could go on and on. Maybe next year someone should host a challenge based upon this list …

Leave a Reply

