Should Be Reading: WWW Wednesdays (2)

16 Mar

Since I haven’t finished many books lately, I haven’t had much to blog about. I want to remain in the habit of blogging about my reading habits – I’ve found it a very helpful practice so far. This year, I have read more than I have in previous years, and it’s been fun to track my reading on this blog.

In an effort to remain in the habit of blogging, I thought I’d respond to the Should Be Reading prompt again. This prompt asks: What are you currently reading? What did you recently finish reading? What do you think you’ll read next?

In my last post, I wrote about An Assembly Such as This by Pamela Aidan. I enjoyed being able to re-experience Pride and Prejudice through the eyes of Mr. Darcy. While I was not swept away with this book as I am with the writing of Jane Austen, it was an enjoyable read focused on an intriguing character.

I am so excited about the book I am currently reading! I just started The Grapes of Wrath by John Steinbeck to fulfill my first book for Dana Huff’s reading challenge. When I entered this challenge, I shamefully admitted that I have never read any of Steinbeck’s works. Now that I have settled into The Grapes of Wrath I am even more ashamed … seriously, how have I not read this book before!? I have been missing out! Though I have just started, I am already enamored of Steinbeck’s lyrical writing style. His descriptions of Oklahoma during the Dust Bowl are richly poetic. From the very first chapter, Steinbeck’s portrayal of the withering landscape and disheartened farmers pierces my heart: “The people came out of their houses and smelled the hot stinging air and covered their noses from it … The men were silent and they did not move often. And the women came out of the houses to stand beside their men – to feel whether this time the men would break … The children sent exploring senses out to see whether men and women would break” (3). Wow! After reading this description, I discovered that I cared for the characters even before Steinbeck introduced them. I suspect that this book will take me a while to get through as I am savoring each page.

I’m not sure what I plan to read next. I have an ever-growing stack of books I plan to read, but no plans yet. If it takes me a while to finish The Grapes of Wrath, I will likely choose a shorter book next time.

3 Responses to “Should Be Reading: WWW Wednesdays (2)”

  1. Shirley March 16, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

    I haven’t read Grapes of Wrath either. Now I really must!

    Here’s my post My Bookshelf. Please take a moment to read my new feature, A Stranger’s Choice, while you are perusing My Bookshelf.

  2. Michelle Vasquez March 16, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

    Wow. I have never read The Grapes of Wrath. Good for you! Here’s my post:

    http://michellevsblog.blogspot.com/2011/03/www-wednesday-mar-16.html

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I’m Back! « Beautifully Alive: My Life in Books - May 2, 2011

    […] And, oh, how I’m enjoying it! I mentioned my love for Steinbeck’s writing style in a previous post, and I continue to be enamored! I love the way Steinbeck has organized The Grapes of Wrath. The […]

Leave a Reply

