New Challenge: Gilmore Girls Reading Challenge

27 Feb

Gilmore Girls is my guilty pleasure. During high school and college, I spent countless hours watching (and re-watching) the show. The writers of Gilmore Girls packed the show with allusions to literature, pop culture, and music. “Catching” these allusions was a bit like finding Easter eggs. What made the show even more enjoyable was the fact that my sister enjoyed it as well – we had many Gilmore Girls marathons. Although it’s been quite some time since I watched the series, I find myself quoting the show regularly. I might have a problem. 🙂

I just discovered a reading challenge based on Gilmore Girls. The website contains a list of books – both fiction and non-fiction – that are referenced in the show. My goal is to reach the Emily level by reading 5 books from the list. This reading challenge can overlap with the “Books I Should Have Read in School, But Didn’t” Challenge.

2 Responses to “New Challenge: Gilmore Girls Reading Challenge”

  1. Heather Truckenmiller March 16, 2011 at 3:41 pm #

    I wanted to do this a few years ago – list all of the books in the show and read them.. but I never did! Love the challenge and will be checking it out, along with my daughter!

    • salmeida March 16, 2011 at 4:05 pm #

      Hi Heather! I was so excited when I stumbled across this challenge. Best of luck to you and your daughter as you join the challenge!

Leave a Reply

