Should Be Reading Prompt: WWW Wednesdays

17 Feb

In Michigan, the mid-winter months are rough! We can go several days without seeing the sun. At about this point each year, I get sick of the snow – the slow morning commutes, bundling up in winter gear, shoveling the driveway – and find myself living for the promise of spring. This winter has been especially difficult as the blizzards buried us in snow about three weeks ago. I am officially diagnosing myself with cabin fever. If the weather were more cooperative, time spent in the great outdoors would be the perfect remedy. But since good ol’ Mother Nature lacks all maternal instinct from November through March, I’ve been spending the cold nights reading instead.

The Should Be Reading blog poses the questions, “What are you currently reading? What did you recently finish reading? What do you think you will read next?” At the moment, I am reading Persuasion by Jane Austen. I have always been enchanted by Jane Austen’s work. Her wit and candor are endearing, as are her unforgettable characters. Her female characters have become almost like friends. I would love to be adopted into the Bennett family just so I could call Jane and Elizabeth my sisters (although I’m quite alright without claiming the other Bennett women as relations). And her male characters are equally as memorable – I mean, what Austen-fan hasn’t (at least momentarily) wanted to marry Fitzwilliam Darcy?! I am thoroughly enjoying Persuasion and plan to write more when I have finished the novel.

I recently finished reading Revolution by Jennifer Donnelly and wrote about it in my previous post.

When I finish Persuasion, I plan to read Juliet by Anne Fortier. Recently, I’ve become intrigued by literary spin-offs. (I’m always stunned by how many Jane Austen spin-offs exist! But that’s a topic for another post …) In the past, my theory has been that no spin-off could be as good as the original. The problem with my theory? I’ve never actually read a spin-off… ever. Juliet sounds very intriguing. According to reviews, Fortier’s novel centers on a modern woman who discovers that her elderly aunt, Giulietta Tolemei, is a descendant of a royal Sienese family thought to have inspired the story of Romeo and Juliet. The novel traces this young woman’s quest to discover the truth about her aunt’s heritage. The reviews have been favorable, and the plot sounds promising. So I’ve decided to give up my no spin-offs rule and give Juliet a try. (The timing is perfect since I am just beginning my Romeo and Juliet unit with my students.)

Leave a Reply

