Mockingjay

3 Feb

*Sigh.* I just finished Mockingjay. I devoured the Hunger Games trilogy, impatient to discover what would happen to Katniss and Peeta. As I neared the end of Mockingjay, however, I deliberately slowed my pace, unwilling to say goodbye to the characters. It’s only been a day since I finished the book, but I already miss Katniss. Pathetic? Probably. But I have a feeling I’m not the only one …

After discovering the chink in the Capitol’s armor during the 75th Hunger Games, Katniss Everdeen is rescued by rebels and becomes the unwilling symbol of the rebellion. Peeta, her Quarter Quell counterpart, is presumably taken captive by the Capitol. Katniss’s reluctant acceptance of the Mockingjay role hinges upon one important condition: that President Coin will grant immunity to all former Hunger Games victors.

Though she now lives in District 13, Katniss travels throughout the Districts shooting propaganda videos that endorse the rebels’ mission. At first, Katniss fulfills her duties as Mockingjay out of a sense of obligation; however, as she witnesses the unrest in Panem, Katniss realizes that she plays a pivotal role in the resistance. Katniss’s journey brings her to the Capitol itself with the intent of assassinating President Snow. While there, Katniss must make decisions that will affect not only her own future, but the future of Panem.

My thoughts are reeling after finishing this novel! I suspect the Hunger Games will stick with me for quite some time! One of my favorite aspects of the trilogy is the way in which Suzanne Collins navigates difficult moral issues. For example, her characters represent many differing attitudes about war. Gale, for instance, represents those who support war as a means by which to improve social conditions for the oppressed. Peeta, a pacifist, disagrees with Gale’s willingness to use the Capitol’s own violent tactics to bring it down. Despite their differences, Collins demonstrates how Gale and Peeta are both motivated by compassion. In doing so, the author refrains from endorsing her own political beliefs while challenging the reader to consider other opinions about war.

While I loved this novel as much as the others in the trilogy, I was disappointed with how abruptly Mockingjay seemed to end. Due to the exciting plot she created, Suzanne Collins certainly had a lot of loose ends to tie up; however, the ending of Mockingjay was less descriptive than the other two novels. The last couple chapters and the epilogue describe Katniss’s life after the Capitol is successfully overthrown. These chapters seem more like a list – first Katniss does this, then she does that … I would like to see more about how different Katniss’s life is now that the Capitol has fallen. I am, however, very satisfied with how the Katniss-Peeta drama resolved – I was  rooting for Peeta throughout the entire trilogy! 🙂

I suppose I should get back to real life now …

4 Responses to “Mockingjay”

  1. Sandy M. May 11, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    I had the same reaction when I finished the series. I read the books very quickly because I was enjoying them so much, but then afterwards I felt that I hadn’t done them justice.

    I think I will re-read them at some point, to savor the ambiguous parts. I think I liked Catching Fire the best, in that respect.

  2. salmeida May 11, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

    Sandy, I love how you chose to use the word “savor”! That’s exactly what I’d like to do … reread the series so that I can savor each book. I’m anxious to see how they adapt the books to movies. I really hope they don’t ruin the story!

  3. Sandy M. May 12, 2011 at 1:43 pm #

    I know, the movie adaptation has me worried. I read a lot of depth into Katnis – she seemed tough but naive: easily manipulated but struggling to define her own path. If the actress is cute+shallow, I am afraid it will just turn into an action movie. I think someone like Natalie Portman would be fabulous – amazing actor, the right look. If only I had that time machine working 😉

  4. salmeida May 12, 2011 at 1:49 pm #

    Ooooo, I like the idea of Natalie Portman playing Katniss! I thought Katniss was a deep character as well. She was very conflicted – she spent so much time fighting against “her calling.” I hope they are able to capture Katniss’s unwilling rise to leadership.

    I’m also a little worried they will “over-do” the whole love triangle between Katniss, Peeta, and Gale…

Leave a comment