Booking Through Thursday Prompt: Heavy

27 Jan

Today’s Booking Through Thursday prompt asks readers, “What’s the largest, thickest, heaviest book you ever read? Was it because you had to? For pleasure? For school?” Atlas Shrugged by Ayn Rand is, by far, the most ambitious book I have ever read. I’d like to say I read this book for fun; however, I think I was more motivated by guilt. When I was in high school I was assigned to read Atlas Shrugged during the summer and complete an assignment demonstrating my understanding of the novel. Even though I loved reading, I procrastinated. Three days before school started I went to the public library to check out Atlas Shrugged … only to discover that it was over 700 pages long! Needless to say, I didn’t finish in time. In fact, I didn’t finish at all. And it’s the only reading assignment that I passed using Cliff Notes. The next summer, I was looking for a book at the library when I passed Ayn Rand’s book. I felt a pang of guilt and decided I should probably read the book. I devoted hours to finishing the novel that summer, and to my surprise, I actually enjoyed it. I found myself loving and hating Dagny Taggart at the same time, but I was enthralled by her story. Reading Atlas Shrugged felt like a literary milestone!

2 Responses to “Booking Through Thursday Prompt: Heavy”

  1. dragonflyy419 January 27, 2011 at 8:35 pm #

    It’s nice that you came back to the book … even if it was out of guilt 🙂

  2. salmeida January 28, 2011 at 1:06 am #

    Thanks for commenting! I feel like I should tell my high school Language Arts teacher that I finally finished the assignment!:)

Leave a Reply

